APSI People: Graduate Students


Samuel Baker
samuel.baker@lawnet.duke.edu
Research Interests:
Chinese politics and political participation; Sino-American relations; private Chinese businesses; Chinese law
Joint JD/MA candidate

Catherine Barzler
catherine.barzler@duke.edu
Research Interests:
U.S-China relations; contemporary Chinese literature, publishing, and news media

Runhua Bian
runhua.bian@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Chinese history and religions; Chinese social organizations

Jing Chen
jc462@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Sinophone and diasphoric writings; film studies; East-West cultural interaction

Ying Cui
ying.cui@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Korean culture and history

Fanxi Feng
fanxi.feng@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese history; Japanese language and culture

Tenggeer Hao
tenggeer.hao@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese literature and critical theory

Xingzhou Hu
xingzhou.hu@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese fiction and poetry; critical theory; modernism and post-modernism

Ningning Huang
ningning.huang@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Chinese literature; psychological theories and philosophical ideologies in literature analysis

Sihui Huang
sihui.huang@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern and contemporary artistic exchanges in Asian-European and Sino-Japanese contexts

Yao Huang
yao.huang1@duke.edu
Research Interests:
China's overseas investments and energy development

Ling Jin
ling.jin@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Hong Kong and Taiwan literature; translation of modern Chinese literature; overseas Chinese

Dandan Ju
dandan.ju@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Women's studies; Chinese literature; film studies

Catherine Kim
catherine.kim@lawnet.duke.edu
Research Interests:
Design and engagement in online space in Asia and how it gives rise to social anxieties; media policy in Asia
Joint JD/MA candidate

Huijuan Li
hl180@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese literature; world literature; cultural activities of Western missionaries during the Ming and Qing dynasties

Yihan Li
yihan.li@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Faith, literature, history, and art in East Asia; Cultural interaction in China and Japan through lenses of literature, art, and anthropology

Yuzhu Li
yuzhu.li@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Grassroots democratization and village elections in China

Zhu Li
charlotte.li@duke.edu
Research Interests:
East Asian and Western literature and culture

Hyesong Lim
hyesong.lim@duke.edu

Research Interests:
Politics of culture, minority, memory and trauma in East Asia

Sixiao Liu
sixiao.liu@duke.edu

Research Interests:
China's economic transition and societal transformation; China's modern history

Yuechen Lou
yuechen.lou@duke.edu

Research Interests:
New media, popular culture, and network literature in China

Kento Nakagawa
kento.nakagawa@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Marriage, reproductive health rights, and gender in East Asia
Meiji University exchange student

Alexander Nickley
alexander.nickley@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Using China as a focal point to explore transnational processes that affect natural ecosystems

Steven Pau
steven.pau@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Korea's relationships with Japan and Russia through comparative literature; global East Asia and growing Asian "minorities" within Asia; expression of East Asian religion in popular culture

Kathryn Rankin
kathryn.rankin@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Japanese history; the relationship between Japanese culture and politics; Japanese religions and religious history; Japanese temples, gardens, and shrines

Wenjun Ruan
wenjun.ruan@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Chinese media; East-West cultural interaction in the context of globalization

Minhui Shen
minhui.shen@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Economic and political change in China; cultural studies

Yimin Shen
yimin.shen@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Chinese pop culture, film, and visual art; Kunqu opera

Birong Wang
birong.wang@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese literature and film studies; identity and memory in the Sinophone world; Tibetan religion and culture

Jingyi Wang
jingyi.wang@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Contemporary Chinese literature and culture

Yu Wang
jade.wang@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Cultural politics; critical theories; post-colonial studies and national identity; gender studies; 20th century Chinese society, literature, and culture

Wenyi Yang
wenyi.yang@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese and Taiwanese literature; Japanese and Korean film studies

Xiao Yang
xiao.yang2@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Culture industry in China and cultural output in the U.S.
Meiji University exchange student

Yue Zhang
yue.zhang2@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Japanese and Chinese visual culture

Qianru Zhao
qianru.zhao@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese literature; film studies; women's studies

Yue Zhao
veronica.zhao@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese literature; comparative studies of Chinese and English female writers

Dihao Zhou
dihao.zhou@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Cultural identity and historical memory of Taiwan through popular culture; popular culture in mainland China

Qian Zhu
qian.zhu@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Foreign relations among East Asian countries; globalization in China

Tianyi Zhu
tianyi.zhu@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese literature and culture

APSI Academics
APSI Home I About APSI I Contact I Sitemap I Duke.edu