APSI People: Graduate Students


Samuel Baker
samuel.baker@lawnet.duke.edu
Research Interests:
Chinese politics and political participation; Sino-American relations; private Chinese businesses; Chinese law
Joint JD/MA candidate

Catherine Barzler
catherine.barzler@duke.edu
Research Interests:
U.S-China relations; contemporary Chinese literature, publishing, and news media

Runhua Bian
runhua.bian@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Chinese history and religions; Chinese social organizations

Jing Chen
jc462@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Sinophone and diasphoric writings; film studies; East-West cultural interaction

Ying Cui
ying.cui@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Korean culture and history

Dai Dai
dai.dai@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Comparative studies in Japanese and Chinese social and political modernization; Sino-Japanese cultural communication

Tessa Handa
tessa.handa@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Japanese art history, specifically Edo and Meiji maps and topographical representations

Xingzhou Hu
xingzhou.hu@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese fiction and poetry; critical theory; modernism and post-modernism

Dandan Ju
dandan.ju@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Women's studies; Chinese literature; film studies

Catherine Kim
catherine.kim@lawnet.duke.edu
Research Interests:
Design and engagement in online space in Asia and how it gives rise to social anxieties; media policy in Asia
Joint JD/MA candidate

Huijuan Li
hl180@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese literature; world literature; cultural activities of Western missionaries during the Ming and Qing dynasties

Yihan Li
yihan.li@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Faith, literature, history, and art in East Asia; Cultural interaction in China and Japan through lenses of literature, art, and anthropology

Zhu Li
charlotte.li@duke.edu
Research Interests:
East Asian and Western literature and culture

Simiao Liu
simiao.liu@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Digital media; pop culture; social networking in Japan and China

Yiqing Liu
yiqing.liu@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Japanese culture and literature

Alexander Nickley
alexander.nickley@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Using China as a focal point to explore transnational processes that affect natural ecosystems

Kathryn Rankin
kathryn.rankin@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Japanese history; the relationship between Japanese culture and politics; Japanese religions and religious history; Japanese temples, gardens, and shrines

Hairong Ruan
hairong.ruan@duke.edu
Research Interests:
The relationship between visual arts and written literature, specifically film and fiction in contemporary China

Wenjun Ruan
wenjun.ruan@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Chinese media; East-West cultural interaction in the context of globalization

Minhui Shen
minhui.shen@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Economic and political change in China; cultural studies

Yimin Shen
yimin.shen@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Chinese pop culture, film, and visual art; Kunqu opera

Birong Wang
birong.wang@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese literature and film studies; identity and memory in the Sinophone world; Tibetan religion and culture

Chen Wang
cw209@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Economic and social change in China in comparison with Japan and Korea; the role of state-owned enterprises in China

Jingyi Wang
jingyi.wang@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Contemporary Chinese literature and culture

Maotao Wen
maotao.wen@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Ancient and modern Chinese literature; the endangerment and preservation of minority verbal literatures

Mian Wu
mian.wu@duke.edu
Research Interests:
The effect of economic reform and globalization on regonal development, social stratification, politics, and cultural identity in China

Wenyi Yang
wenyi.yang@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese and Taiwanese literature; Japanese and Korean film studies

Yang Yi
yang.yi@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Chinese politics, media, and cultural studies; the role of social media in political participation

Shanni Zhao
shanni.zhao@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Chinese film and drama; media studies; Chinese politics and society

Yue Zhao
veronica.zhao@duke.edu
Research Interests:
Modern Chinese literature; comparative studies of Chinese and English female writers

APSI Academics
APSI Home I About APSI I Contact I Sitemap I Duke.edu